Indigenous Cultural Leadership Program

All Our Futures is an initiative to grow the next generation of Indigenous Cultural Leadership. This timely program responds to the problem that Australia struggles to support and nurture Aboriginal creative leaders across all areas of the performing arts, with a critical deficit existing in the areas of producing, directing, technical, production & project management. This initiative also acknowledges that entry into the arts industry for any emerging artist is genuinely challenging.

Yirra Yaakin believes theatre can play a major role in promoting the culture and language of Indigenous Australia. We are asking for your support to help us create a solid foundation that will ensure that our stories continue to be created and managed culturally, appropriately and presented with the highest standard of excellence. By investing in our future artists and producers we are ensuring that Aboriginal theatre is culturally significant, inspiring, motivating and self-determined for generations to come. We believe pride, strength and cultural empowerment are the basis of a healthy, sustainable community and with the success of this project we will be building the skills and capacity of our future leaders. 

I invite you to consider making a contribution to this important initiative. Every donation counts, and when combined with the support of others we can make a significant impact.  Together we can play a crucial role in fostering the education of future generations of young Australians in awareness of Aboriginal culture in all its diversity.”  (Kyle J Morrison- Artistic Director)

We invite you to join us in supporting and encouraging the development and strengthening of our young people. Its ‘all our futures’ that we want to grow, so we can continue to stay strong, and ‘stand tall’.

2015/16 All Our Futures trainees : Clothilde Bullen, Shakara Walley & Ian Wilkes

Clothilde Bullen (2016):

Clothilde Bullen is a Wardandi/Yamatji woman with French/English ancestry, who has worked in the Indigenous arts area for over 20 years.  Clothilde was previously employed for over a decade as the Curator of Indigenous Art at the Art Gallery of Western Australia, curating significant exhibitions including the Western Australian Indigenous Art Awards, and prior to that managed a commercial Indigenous art gallery; Artist in Residence, at Kings Park.  Now an independent Curator, Clothilde is undertaking postgraduate studies at the University of Western Australia through the Architecture, Landscape and Visual Arts faculty.  Clothilde was one of a duo that established the Indigenous radio program Bordak Bordak Ngalla at RTRFM in 2000, and was the Coordinator of the Wardanji Festival in 2004. 

Clothilde is currently a long-term standing member of the University of Western Australia's Cultural Collections Committee, and is an inaugural Board member for the Centre for Stories.  Clothilde was previously a Board member for the Berndt Museum at UWA, and a member of the National Indigenous Arts Advisory Reference Group for the Australia Council.  Clothilde has previously been on the Board of Yirra Yaakin Theatre and is thrilled to now be formally associated with this outstanding company. 

Shakara Walley (2015):

Shakara Walley graduated from the Aboriginal Theatre course at the WA Academy of Performing Arts (WAAPA) in 2007. Since then she has been touring with Yirra Yaakin Theatre Company performing in school productions both locally and regionally. Credits include In the Nyitting Time, Good Lovin’, Mutta Car Sorry Business, Yirra Yaarnz and most recently Kaarla Kaatijin & Kep Kaatijin. Shakara has also been a workshop leader/facilitator for the Culture 2.0 workshop program. Shakara is also an accomplished singer/ musician performing at events and festivals such as the Survival/Too Solid Concert, Fairbridge Festival. Shakara is currently studying her Bachelor of Arts in Film Production. In 2014 she directed & produced Confessions Of a Pyromaniac at The Blue Room Theatre, which garnered her a finalist nomination as an emerging producer for The Judges Choice Award at the annual Blue Room Theatre Awards. Most recently, Shakara was the Assistant Producer for the Indigenous component of The Giants for Yirra Yaakin and the Perth International Arts Festival. She will produce her own work Songbird in July at The Blue Room Theatre for NAIDOC. Here's a message from Shakara:

Ian Wilkes (2015/16):

Ian Wilkes has always had a passion for the performing arts. Coming from a strong cultural family, Aboriginal dance is an important part of his life. At the age of 15, Ian travelled to Korea promoting Aboriginal culture and dance. In 2008, Ian graduated from the Aboriginal Theatre course at the WA Academy of Performing Arts (WAAPA), and featured in a short film Project Petey DNA by David Milroy. He has since performed in a number of productions for Yirra Yaakin Theatre Company including, Good Lovin’, Honey Spot, Yirra Yarns Kaarla Kaatijin & Kep Kaatijin. Ian has also been a workshop leader/facilitator for the Culture 2.0 workshop program & performed Shakespeare’s Sonnets in Noongar for the 2013 opening of the Perth International Arts festival. He has performed with the world renowned Aboriginal Dance Group Wadumbah and in July 2013 performed and provided a performance and workshops as a part of NAIDOC celebrations at the Australian High Commission and international school in Singapore. Most recently, Ian was the Assistant Director on the award winning Yirra Yaakin production of King Hit.


Follow All Our Futures on Facebook, Twitter and look out for #allourfutures2015.

Yirra Yaakin would like to acknowledge and thank donors who currently support All Our Futures.

Henry Boston Aaron Beach Tim Watts
Leanne McKenzie Debrah Kelly Debrah Kelly
Judi Donald Helen Hristofski Lavan Legal
Peter Kift Kerry O'Sullivan Andrew Bovell
Sally Richardson Sarah Weber Kathryn Osborne
Fiona Symonds Andrea Fernandez Kyle Morrison
Carolyn Tan Georgia King Alison Murphy-Oates
Chris Tonkin Terry Grose Trevor Eastwood
Rosemary Sayer Suzanne Clerc Spinifex Trust
Louanne Munz Michelle White Galvin Foundation
Peter Blaxell Kathy Perano